Council | Lincoln University

Lincoln University is governed by a Council which is responsible for the strategic direction and performance of the University.


Enrol online Skip to main content

Time Table

Find out where and when your classes are on.

View timetable

Key dates

See important dates and deadlines for the academic year.

View calendar


Login to Moodle



Lincoln University is governed by a Council which is responsible for the strategic direction and performance of the University.


The Council also has to ensure all statutory requirements, and in particular those of the Education Act 1989, are met.
The Council approves the management framework and overall structure and operation of the University, including delegations to the Vice-Chancellor and Academic Board.

Council responsibilities

The Council's responsibilities include:
* Ensuring that the University attains the highest standards of excellence in education, training and in research
* Acknowledging the principles of the Treaty of Waitangi
* Ensuring the well-being of students
* Ensuring the responsible use of resources.

Council Members

The Council is chaired by the Chancellor, Tony Hall. In the absence of the Chancellor, the Pro-Chancellor, Linda Tame, deputises. The current members are listed below, with the year in which their current term ends noted in brackets.
Four persons appointed by the Minister for Tertiary Education, Skills and Employment
* Bruce Gemmell, BBS (Massey), CA (2019)
* Sir Graeme T Harrison, KNZM, BA, MA (Hons), (Cant), DCom (Linc) (2019)
* Andrew Macfarlane, BAgrSc (Linc), MNZIPIM (2018)
* Dr L John Wood, CNZM, QSO, BA, MA (Hons), (Cant), BA (Oxf), LittD (2019)
* Professor Robin Pollard BSc (Hons) (Cantuar), MBA (Monash), PhD (Cantuar)
One member elected by the Academic Staff
* Professor Brian Jordan, BSc (Hons), PhD (Newcastle, UK), MNZIFST, MRSNZ (2019)
One member elected by the General Staff
* Dr Peter Cook, BSc (Hons), PhD Queensland (2019)
One student
* Danyon Thomas (2017)
One member appointed after nominated by Te Rūnanga o Ngāi Tahu
* Puamiria Parata-Goodall, BA (Cant), B Māori Performing Arts (Te Awanuiarangi) (2019)
Three members appointed by the Council
* Anthony (Tony) J. Hall (Chancellor), MNZM (2019)
* Linda Tame, (Pro-Chancellor), QSM, BEc (ANU), DipTchg (2019)
* Steve Smith, Advanced Dip. Field Tech. (Distinction), MW (Inst. of Wine, London) (2020)

Council meetings for 2016

The dates for Council meetings in 2016 are as follows:
* 26 January
* 23 February
* 22 March
* 8 April - Graduation
* 19 April
* 24 May
* 21 June
* 26 July
* 23 August
* 27 September
* 18 October
* 22 November
* 6 December

Council agenda, papers and minutes

The Council papers available below are from the public session of each Council meeting.
2016 Agenda Papers Minutes
15 January Minutes (PDF 152KB)
26 January Agenda (PDF 1MB) Minutes (PDF 212KB)
23 February Agenda (PDF 4MB) Minutes (PDF 237KB)
22 March Agenda (PDF 3MB) Minutes (PDF 454KB)
19 April Agenda (PDF 2MB) Minutes (PDF 238KB)
24 May Agenda (PDF 1MB) Minutes (PDF 234KB)
21 June Agenda (PDF 4MB) Minutes (PDF 227KB)
26 July Agenda (PDF 3MB) Minutes (PDF 297KB)
23 August Agenda (PDF 4MB) Minutes (PDF 228KB)
27 September Agenda (PDF 1MB) Minutes (PDF 265KB)
18 October Agenda (PDF 5MB)
11 November
6 December
2015 Agenda Papers Minutes
24 February Agenda (PDF 8MB) Minutes (PDF 224KB)
21 April Agenda (PDF 1MB) Minutes (PDF 293KB)
23 June Agenda (PDF 2MB) Minutes (PDF 262KB)
25 August Agenda (PDF 6MB) Minutes (PDF 246KB)
20 October Agenda (PDF 1.6MB) Minutes (PDF 229KB)
17 November Agenda (PDF 670KB) Minutes (PDF 198KB)
8 December Agenda (PDF 2MB) Minutes (PDF 228KB)
14 December Agenda (PDF 446KB) Minutes (PDF 209KB)

    Carousel arrow left
    Carousel arrow right
    Lincoln University website redevelopment project 2014
    Nick Goodey - C# back end and SharePoint Developer
    Star Chen - Web Developer
    Karaitiana Taiuru - Web Developer SharePoint administrator
    Ting Wu - Front end Developer
    Jeremy Baker - Senior managment
    Tafflyn Bradford-James Marketing director
    Richard Corby - Project manager
    Pikselin - primary partner, web designers, UX design