Children's University

Te Mātāpuna Mātātahi | Children’s University encourages young people aged seven to 17 to take part in innovative learning activities outside the classroom.

Te Mātāpuna Mātātahi | Children’s University aims to encourage lifelong learning and increase young people’s aspirations for higher education. We work in partnership with the University of Canterbury to deliver the programme, which is the first of its kind in New Zealand.

There are two components to the programme:

  • Passport to Learning for children aged seven to 14 
  • Passport to Volunteering for young people aged 14 – 18 

Children and young people join the programme through their school or rūnanga and are issued a Passport to Learning or Volunteering. They fill the passport with hours of learning or volunteering outside the school classroom. The passport is stamped by registered learning destinations or volunteering organisations.

This short video provides an overview of how the programme works, in the words of one of our graduates.

Once 30 hours of learning or volunteering are reached, students are invited to attend a graduation ceremony to celebrate their achievements. A video of the 2019 graduation can be viewed here

The CU team would like to thank the Lincoln University Centennial Trust for supporting the CU programme. Their contribution allows children from across Canterbury to participate in learning experiences at Lincoln University.


Te Mātāpuna Mātātahi | Children’s University enquiries: 

Jack Swannell - Programme Manager | Kaiwhakahaere: [email protected]

Toby Johnson - Learning Coordinator| Kairuruku Ako: [email protected]z

Georgia Huxtable – Puni Coordinator | Kairuruku Puni: [email protected]


Te Mātāpuna Mātātahi | Children’s University Website 

Click here to subscribe to our newsletter.