Smith - Lucas Landscape Architecture Scholarship

​The SMITH - LUCAS Scholarship was established in 2019 to encourage Lincoln landscape architecture students to undertake an MLA research project that focuses on rural landscape issues.

Scholarships are being awarded for the purpose of improving the planning and management of rural landscapes in Aotearoa New Zealand to become more sustainable in the face of global challenges such as climate change and systems adaptation.

The scholarships aim to support recipients in the School of Landscape Architecture to learn about and contribute to better landscape planning, design and management in the rural sector.


$8,000pa stipend

Closing Date

31 October

Selection Criteria

Applicants must:- Be students who are eligible to enter the NZILA accredited Master of Landscape Architecture degree at Lincoln University in the semester immediately following the award of this scholarship. Applicants may be either entering into a full-time one year or part-time two year programme of their Master's degree.


  • Available to New Zealand Citizen or Permanent Resident Students
  • Available to International Students